Second-degree Burglary charges for man who broke into a woman’s home in Roseville, Minnesota. A woman was watching her baby monitor and saw a man in her home putting things into his pockets. She immediately called the police who showed up quickly. The police then saw a van in her driveway and saw footprints in the snow. Kennis Littleton was in the home hiding. Police released a canine on him which later bit him. Littleton had no choice but to surrender to the police. The homeowner’s items were found inside Littleton’s car. He was then transported to the Ramsey County jail. He was charged with second-degree burglary, and now faces a penalty of up to 10 years in jail and a $20,000 fine. He is also on probation for another robbery case.
What is second-degree burglary?
Minnesota statute 609.582 states that “(a) Whoever enters a building without consent and with intent to commit a crime, or enters a building without consent and commits a crime while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the second degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or both, if:
(1) the building is a dwelling;
(2) the portion of the building entered contains a banking business or other business of receiving securities or other valuable papers for deposit or safekeeping and the entry is with force or threat of force;
(3) the portion of the building entered contains a pharmacy or other lawful business or practice in which controlled substances are routinely held or stored, and the entry is forcible; or
(4) when entering or while in the building, the burglar possesses a tool to gain access to money or property.
(b) Whoever enters a government building, religious establishment, historic property, or school building without consent and with intent to commit a crime under section 609.52 or 609.595, or enters a government building, religious establishment, historic property, or school building without consent and commits a crime under section 609.52 or 609.595 while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the second degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or both.”
What is first degree burglary?
There are many different ways to be charges with burglary. As seen in the statute it depends on the type of building/dwelling and whether there was consent to be there and/or take the items. The charge gets enhanced to a first-degree burglary with similar elements to second-degree burglary. Burglary in the first-degree occurs when the building is a dwelling and another person is present when the burglar enters the come or if the person is in the same building. It may be enhanced if a person in the building is assaulted and if the burglar has a weapon. Burglary in the first degree carries a penalty of up to 20 years in prison and a fine up to $35,000.
Littleton will need one of the best criminal attorneys in Minnesota to help him fight the charges against him. The best criminal attorneys will ensure that no negative statements are made and will speak on your behalf. Burglary is very serious and you will need one of the best criminal attorneys in Minnesota to fight for you. Keller Law Offices offers a free consultation. Do not wait until you have court to hire one of the best criminal attorneys. Max Keller is an aggressive criminal attorney and has handled many burglary cases in the past. Keller Law Offices offers payment plans in most cases. Take a look at the firm’s website at www.kellerlawoffices.com. Phones and e-mails are answered 24/7. Call 952-913-1421 to talk with an attorney.