Keller Law Offices logo2
Call Us Today:
(952) 913-1421
Call Us Today:
(952) 913-1421

CVO and DWI charges filed against Southern Minnesota man

CVO and DWI charges filed against Southern Minnesota man

A Southern Minnesota man was formally charged in October with criminal vehicular operation and driving while impaired charges in relation to allegations from February. The man reportedly is scheduled to appear Friday for arraignment on the serious charges. The Red Wing Republican-Eagle reports that the man was booked at the Goodhue County Jail Friday on the charges and then released.

The allegations claim the 23-year-old Kenyon man was involved in a single vehicle accident around 1:15 a.m. Feb. 5, 2011. A Goodhue County Sheriff’s deputy says the man accused of CVO and DWI charges was found with a second man attempting to pull a pickup truck out of a ditch on Goodhue County Road 12. The deputy claims the man accused of the serious drunk driving charges admitted to have driven the truck and admitted to having lost control and hitting the ditch.

During the roadside encounter, the deputy says the Kenyon man said that no one was injured when the truck went into the ditch. However, the deputy says he smelled alcohol and claims a breath test of the man accused of driving the pickup show an alcohol level of 0.193 percent. The man was originally arrested on suspicion of DWI.

After the arrest, law enforcement claims the man then admitted that a 23-year-old woman was in the truck when he ran into the ditch. The deputy claims the man says that he took the woman to a nearby home after the crash. Law enforcement claims the woman suffered injuries to her neck and back and was taken to the emergency room at a Faribault hospital.

A criminal complaint, filed in October, reportedly charges the man with criminal vehicular operation in relation to the alleged drunk driving accident. The man is also accused of fourth degree DWI. Generally, a fourth degree DWI charge is a first-time misdemeanor offense. That charge can be upgraded to a third degree charge if an aggravating factor is alleged. For instance, a blood alcohol test showing a reading of 0.20 percent could bring a third degree DWI charge, even on a first time offense.

Source: Red Wing Republican-Eagle, “Kenyon man charged with criminal vehicular operation,” Dec. 7, 2011

Get legal advice from Max Keller
GET A FREE CASE CONSULTATION
CONTACT US