Off-duty Belle Plaine cop charged with second DWI

A Minnesota State Patrol trooper says that an off-duty Belle Plaine police officer was driving 96 miles per hour on highway 169 between Belle Plaine and Jordan, Minnesota last week. The trooper conducted a traffic stop shortly before 2:30 in the morning Tuesday. The traffic stop apparently led to an investigation of the off duty cop for suspicion of drunk driving.

State Patrol officials say that the 32-year-old suspect was tested for alcohol. The test registered 0.17 percent blood alcohol concentration. The man accused of driving while impaired has a prior DWI conviction within 10 years, according to a report in the Minneapolis Star Tribune. He was charged with gross misdemeanor DWI in that case, but reportedly pled guilty to a misdemeanor charge in February 2004.

Minnesota law allows authorities to upgrade DWI charges in a current case based upon alleged evidence of an aggravating factor. One of the factors that can aggravate a DWI charge is a prior DWI conviction– or prior implied consent loss of license– within 10 years of a current alleged offense.

The Minnesota DWI laws also include a BAC reading of 0.20 percent or more as an aggravating factor. The Belle Plaine man was accused of a gross misdemeanor charge in late 2003 based upon a 0.20 percent BAC reading. The charge was later resolved in the February 2004 plea bargain as a misdemeanor conviction.

The 32-year-old off-duty cop is charged with third-degree DWI, a gross misdemeanor after last week’s arrest, based in part upon the man’s prior record.

The 10-year veteran with the Belle Plaine police was booked into the Scott County Jail, and released later that same morning after posting bond.

Source: Minneapolis Star Tribune, “Belle Plaine cop faces 2nd DWI,” Paul Walsh, Nov. 21, 2012

He has won jury trial cases in misdemeanor and felony cases and in DWI’s and non-DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. He is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

Involve a criminal appeal attorney soon after you learn the prosecution is appealing your sentence. Your attorney will walk you through the involving and confusing sentencing guidelines. An attorney's involvement will also help you develop a defense strategy for the appeal.