Tasha Schleicher was charged with driving while intoxicated in Olmsted County after being stopped with five kids in the car. An officer witnessed Schleicher drive off the road and hit the median barrier, which she sideswiped for 200 feet on highway 52 while debris was coming off her car. After an officer made contact with her, the officer detected an odor of alcohol and he saw that she was breastfeeding her baby. The officer believed that she was under the influence of drugs or alcohol and saw that she had five kids in the car all under the age of 10. Schleicher admitted to drinking and also told the officer that she didn’t have a driver’s license. After she was arrested, her blood alcohol content was .17. The legal limit for a DWI in Minnesota is under .08. Her kids were also taken away by child protection services and were place into a foster home. Schleicher also had five other kids at home. Schleicher had three prior DWI convictions in the last ten years, which mean that the current charge will result in a felony DWI charge.
In Minnesota there are four levels of DWI’s. A fourth-degree DWI is a misdemeanor and is issued when the driver has no priors DUI’s within the past ten years. For a fourth-degree DWI to be issued, the driver cannot have any aggravating factors involved. A third-Degree DWI is a gross misdemeanor. This means that the driver may have had one prior DUI within the past ten years or that an aggravating factor was involved. Another way a DUI can become a third-degree DWI is if the driver refused to take the breath test. A second degree DUI is also a gross misdemeanor. This means that the driver may have had two prior DUI’s within the past ten years. The driver also could have had one prior with an aggravating factor or refused the breath test. A first degree DWI is a felony, which means that the driver had four drunken driving convictions within the past ten years.
In Minnesota, another aggravating factor is having a child under 16 years old in the car at the same time as the DWI. Other than an enhanced DWI charge, the driver with a child in the car could also face child endangerment charges. Other penalties Schleicher will face is the loss of her drivers license and a forfeiture of the vehicle driven. Schleicher will likely be charged with felony DWI and child endangerment charges by the Olmsted County Attorney’s Office. She will also have to deal with a child protection services (CPS).
Max Keller is a 24-hour criminal lawyer. Because Max Keller is a 24-hour criminal lawyer, the phones are answered in the middle of the night to offer guidance to individuals in custody. A 24-hour criminal lawyer is always available and willing to talk to people who are seeking legal advice. Keller Law Offices also offers a free consultation. The 24-hour criminal lawyers at Keller Law Offices will take the time to find out the facts and circumstances before giving any legal advice. Call 612-210-0629 if you have been charged with a crime. Just because you have been charged with a DWI, does not mean you will be convicted of a DWI. For more information about the DWI criminal defense attorneys at Keller Law Offices, visit the firm’s website at www.kellerlawoffices.com.