High level of DWI’s over thanksgiving lead to 137 arrests in Minnesota. Over thanksgiving there was also a crash in Mankato, which killed one person. The police believe that alcohol was a factor. The driver will be charged with criminal vehicular homicide. The numbers of arrests are up from last year’s numbers for DWI’s over thanksgiving. State Troopers and police officers will be looking for drunk drivers over the next few weeks as there will be enhanced patrolling over the twin cities for driving while intoxicated. (“DWI”). The enhanced patrolling will be for individuals leaving holiday parties throughout the holiday season. As previously blogged on, the Minnesota state patrol l looks for key signs such as speeding and erratic driving. The State Patrol will be looking at other key signs to initiate a traffic stop such as crossing over the centerline, weaving, wide turns, and failure to signal while making a turn. There are many other scenarios where a State Trooper can make a valid stop such as wellness or safety checks or cars parking in a park after hours. It is common for Troopers to respond to a 911 call of erratic driving. Other reasons for a stop may include things like texting and driving and sleeping drivers in their cars also known as slumpers and missing taillights.
If you were arrested for DWI over the holidays, contact the attorneys at Keller Law Offices. In Minnesota there are four levels of DWI’s. A fourth-degree DWI is a misdemeanor and is issued when the driver has no priors DUI’s within the past ten years. For a fourth-degree DWI to be issued, the driver cannot have any aggravating factors involved. A third-Degree DWI is a gross misdemeanor. This means that the driver may have had one prior DUI within the past ten years or that an aggravating factor was involved. Another way a DUI can become a third-degree DWI is if the driver refused to take the breath test. A second degree DUI is also a gross misdemeanor. This means that the driver may have had two prior DUI’s within the past ten years. The driver also could have had one prior with an aggravating factor or refused the breath test. A first degree DWI is a felony, which means that the driver had four drunken driving convictions within the past ten years. Other aggravating factors can include having kids in the vehicle and test results over .16.
If you have been charged with DWI, contact an attorney right away. Invoke your right to silence right away and call Keller Law Offices. Our phone number is also listed in many of the phone directories in the jails throughout Minnesota. Max Keller is a 24-hour criminal lawyer. Because Max Keller is a 24-hour criminal lawyer, the phones are answered in the middle of the night to offer guidance to individuals in custody. A 24-hour criminal lawyer is always available and willing to talk to people who are seeking legal advice. Keller Law Offices also offers a free consultation. The 24-hour criminal lawyers at Keller Law Offices will take the time to find out the facts and circumstances before giving any legal advice. Call 612-210-0629 if you have been charged with a crime. Keller Law Offices offers payment plans in most cases. We will talk with you about the process and steps that need to be taken to handle your case. We are aggressive and will take your case to trial. Please visit the firm’s website at www.kellerlawoffices.com.