Keller Law Offices logo2
Call Us Today:
(952) 913-1421
Call Us Today:
(952) 913-1421

Second Degree DWI Charge for Woman seeking Criminal Lawyer in Minnesota

Second Degree DWI Charge for Woman seeking Criminal Lawyer in Minnesota

Sina Julie Yim was charged with endangerment of a child and two counts of second degree driving while impaired in Apple Valley, MN. She was pulled over with her six-year-old son in her vehicle in Dakota County. The Lakeville police saw her swerving and following other cars too closely. Yim smelled like alcohol and admitted to drinking prior to driving. The police conducted sobriety tests. They also gave Yim a preliminary breath test (“PBT). The PBT showed a purported value of .27. The legal limit to drive in Minnesota is .08. Yim was taken into custody and the child’s father came to pick him up. Yim may face up to three years in jail and/or a $9000 fine. Yim will need a criminal lawyer in Minnesota to help her with her case.
What is second degree DUI?
There are four levels of DUI in Minnesota. Fourth, third, second, and first degree (felony DUI). DUI’s are an enhanceable offense. This means that a prior DUI will be used as an aggravating factor if you get another DUI in the future. There are other ways to get an enhancement such as if the alcohol concentration is .20 or more or if there are children in the vehicle. Here, because Yim had her six year old child in her car and tested a .27, she was charged with second degree DUI. Yim had two aggravating factors in her case which led to the Gross Misdemeanor DUI charge.
Max Keller handles many alcohol related offenses in Minnesota. He is a criminal lawyer in Minnesota. Keller Law Offices offers free consultations for their clients. He has 17 years of experience as a criminal lawyer in Minnesota. Call 952-913-1421 to talk with a criminal lawyer. Keller Law Offices has two criminal lawyers licensed in Minnesota.

Get legal advice from Max Keller
GET A FREE CASE CONSULTATION
CONTACT US