A young boy who moved to Nebraska may be facing sex offender registration. He previously resided in Minnesota and moved to Nebraska. Even though Nebraska does not require juveniles to register he might have to. A law is in place which holds that anyone who enters the state after January 1, 1997 has to register under the laws of the previous state of residence. The 12 year old boy was charged with criminal sexual conduct in the first degree in Minnesota. Minnesota does require him to register. In Minnesota, he received probation and counseling. A civil case is now pending. The issue is whether the sex offender registry constitutes cruel and unusual punishment. Additionally, the court has been asked to clarify the law regarding when juveniles move to different states in relation to sex offender registration.
What are the consequence of sex offender registration?
In Minnesota, there are many crimes that require predatory offender registration in Minnesota. These include: Criminal Sexual Conduct and Felony Level Indecent Exposure, Kidnapping and False Imprisonment, Soliciting a minor to engage in prostitution or sexual conduct, Using a Minor in a sexual performance, and Possession of pictorial representation of minors. In Minnesota, all registrants are required to register for a minimum of 10 years of the duration or probation, whichever is longer. In some cases, individuals have to register for life.
There are also additional consequences of failure to register. An additional ten years will be added to the registration period of the individual fails to register. Additional prison time is also a possibility when a registrant fails to register. If you have questions about whether you need to register as a predatory offender, contact your probation officer or a criminal defense attorney.
When determining if a registrant is allowed to have contact with children, the registrant should look to their conditions of probation and parole. It is always better to err on the side of caution if the conditions are unclear to you. Depending on the specifics on the conditions of release, there may also be restrictions on whether you can live near a daycare or school. Contact your probation or parole officer and your criminal defense attorney if you have specific questions about your case. If you have information about an offense, you can look it up on the BCA’s website. You will be able to find the complaint and sentencing documents on the website.
Failure to report changes in address, employment, schools or vehicles that are owned and operated may lead to non-compliance. Failure to return verification forms may also lead to non-compliance. If you live in another state, and visit Minnesota for more than 14 days, you must register or you may be deemed non-compliant. If you have questions about what it means to remain “compliant,” contact your probation officer or criminal defense attorney. In some cases, you will need to contact your parole office. There are many rules and guidelines for predatory offenders.
A non-compliant registrant may have a warrant issued for their arrest. If you have questions about whether you have a warrant for your arrest, contact Keller Law Offices. Keller Law Offices will monitor your case and can help get a warrant quashed and have a court date set up instead.
Keller Law Offices has two Criminal defense attorneys. The criminal defense attorneys at Keller Law Offices are aggressive and will fight for you. If you have been charged with a sex crime, contact Max Keller or Lexie Stein. Keller Law Offices offers free consultations for individuals charged with a crime. Keller Law Offices is also extremely focused on getting the best results possible for their clients. Call 952-913-1421 today.