Minnesota residents can get a DWI for operating vehicles other than their car while intoxicated. It is illegal to operate any motorable vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. State law clearly defines the types of motor vehicles that can lead to a DWI if operated while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.
Table of Contents
Bicycle riders in Minnesota cannot be charged with a DWI for riding while intoxicated. However, they may face other charges, like reckless driving, if they are impaired and ride their bicycles in a way that endangers others.
Motorized Vehicles and Devices
Driving motorized vehicles such as mopeds and ATVs while intoxicated will attract more serious charges than those involving bicycles. Minnesota traffic laws also prohibit residents from operating boats under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. Other types of motor vehicles that are illegal to operate while intoxicated include dirt bikes, MTBs, snowmobiles, four-wheel drives, and side-by-side vehicles.
The DWI charges are similar regardless of the type of motor vehicle involved. A DWI conviction can attract both administrative sanctions and criminal charges. The penalties may include license suspension, loss of driving privileges, fines, and imprisonment.
Minnesota law provides three types of administrative sanctions:
License Revocation: The duration of license revocation depends on the severity of the current offense and the person’s past record.
License Plate Impoundment: This applies when the DWI incident involves aggravating factors such as previous charges, canceled driver’s license, or having a child aged below 16 in the vehicle.
Vehicle Forfeiture: This sanction applies to third-degree DWI violations with one or more aggravating factors.
There are four degrees of DWI charges in Minnesota. Someone who has no previous offenses in the past 10 years and no aggravating factors will likely face fourth-degree DWI charges. Penalties include jail time for up to 90 days and a fine of up to $1,000. The charge may be upgraded to a felony or gross misdemeanor if other people have been harmed.
A first-degree charge applies to drivers who have had three or more DWI charges within the past ten years, a previous first-degree charge, or a previous felony conviction for vehicular homicide. People who are convicted face a fine of up to $14,000 and imprisonment for up to seven years.