Criminal Vehicular Operation or Homicide: Texting While Driving

In a recent survey reported in the Star Tribune newspaper, at least half of all teens surveyed said that they text while driving.  We all know that teenage drivers are not the safest, because, for among others reasons, they are reckless, inexperienced, and believe they are invincible and can live forever.  To put an exclamation point on the problem, a Massachusetts teenager 18 years old was just sentenced to one year in prison for texting while driving causing the death of another driver.  Under Minnesota law, that is a felony called Criminal Vehicular Operation (Homicide). And unfortunately, most of us are guilty of texting while driving, we just haven’t hurt or killed anyone (yet).  If you OR someone you know has been charged with a crime for Minnesota distracted driving, like Criminal Vehicular Operation or Criminal Vehicular Homicide, or DWI, or texting while driving, then you need a Tough, Experienced Minnesota Criminal Defense and Distracted Driving Attorney to keep you out of Jail now.

  In Minnesota, the presumptive sentence under the Minnesota felony Sentencing Guidelines is 48 months (4 years) for Criminal Vehicular Operation Homicide, killing someone while committing a DWI or otherwise grossly negligent driving, like the accusations against Amy Senser. Many defenses are available under the law, however, and can be utilized by a skilled criminal defense attorney. Among these defenses are the following: the person did not commit a DWI, the accused driver–even if intoxicated–did not cause the accident, the alleged victim was negligent, or the accused driver’s driving behavior, even if mistaken or negligent, does not rise to the level of Gross Negligence required for a conviction and prison sentence.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a felony-level driving crime like Minnesota Criminal Vehicular Operation or Criminal Vehicular Homicide (CVO or CVH) then you need to call a tough, experienced, skilled attorney ASAP.

Max Keller has won countless jury trial cases involving misdemeanors and felonies, sex crimes, and DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. Max is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

Getting falsely accused of domestic violence in Minnesota may put you at risk of losing your job, custody of your children, or even your home. You may face criminal charges and the accusation may damage your reputation in the community, as people will now view you as an abuser. False domestic violence accusations often happen when couples are in a contentious relationship with a risk of divorce.
The top reasons for license suspension in Minnesota include driving under the influence of alcohol, repeated traffic violations, and failure to appear in court or pay fines. Failure to pay child support, criminal convictions and felonies, medical conditions/disabilities, and drag racing can also lead to license suspension. The suspension takes away your driving privileges, preventing you from driving legally.
Motorists arrested for allegedly driving while impaired might wonder, “Can you refuse a breathalyzer?” In Minnesota, the implied consent law requires a person licensed to drive, control, or operate a vehicle to agree to a chemical test to check for alcohol or other intoxicants in that person’s body. Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer or another chemical test is a crime, often charged as a gross misdemeanor.