Call Today

December brings more DWI patrols to Minnesota roads

Just before Thanksgiving, this blog reported that law enforcement in Minnesota planned to ramp up enforcement of Minnesota’s tough laws against driving while impaired. Not surprisingly, increased enforcement of Minnesota DWI laws is planned throughout the holiday season. Local police and state troopers across the state are participating in the “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” campaign throughout Minnesota during the entire month of December.

One tally indicates that local and state agencies will add 8,500 extra hours of DWI patrols during December on Minnesota’s roads. Each year, roughly 30,000 drivers are pulled into the legal system on DWI allegations. Complicating matters even further are the civil proceedings that can arise after a DUI or DWI arrest in Minnesota.

Cars can be seized for forfeiture in some cases. Driver’s licenses are put in jeopardy after a DWI arrest and any challenge to the license revocation is a separate matter from the criminal DWI charge. The timeline to challenge a DWI license revocation is short. As this blog has reported, a charge of driving after cancellation only makes matters worse.

It is important to note that Minnesota DWI laws have been made stricter. Most Minnesotans know that the legal limit for blood alcohol is 0.08 percent. However, Minnesota law now requires that a driver install an ignition interlock device after a DWI conviction for an offense involving evidence of an alcohol concentration of 0.16 percent or more, even on a first-time DWI offense.

People charged with a DWI in Minnesota have a right to challenge the state’s case in court. Drivers charged with DWI also can challenge the associated license revocation or vehicle forfeiture, but those civil matters operate outside of the criminal case. It is important to speak with a seasoned Minneapolis and St. Paul DUI/DWI defense lawyer as soon as possible after a DWI arrest for an assessment of a case and to learn what implications, both in the criminal case and associated civil cases, may be involved.

Source: Hometown Source, “Added DWI enforcement rolls out in December,” Dec. 1, 2011

Max Keller has won countless jury trial cases involving misdemeanors and felonies, sex crimes, and DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. Max is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

Getting falsely accused of domestic violence in Minnesota may put you at risk of losing your job, custody of your children, or even your home. You may face criminal charges and the accusation may damage your reputation in the community, as people will now view you as an abuser. False domestic violence accusations often happen when couples are in a contentious relationship with a risk of divorce.
The top reasons for license suspension in Minnesota include driving under the influence of alcohol, repeated traffic violations, and failure to appear in court or pay fines. Failure to pay child support, criminal convictions and felonies, medical conditions/disabilities, and drag racing can also lead to license suspension. The suspension takes away your driving privileges, preventing you from driving legally.
Motorists arrested for allegedly driving while impaired might wonder, “Can you refuse a breathalyzer?” In Minnesota, the implied consent law requires a person licensed to drive, control, or operate a vehicle to agree to a chemical test to check for alcohol or other intoxicants in that person’s body. Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer or another chemical test is a crime, often charged as a gross misdemeanor.