How expensive is a speeding ticket in Minneapolis?

Seeing the flashing lights behind their vehicle is typically not a pleasant experience for anyone. According to a recent study from NerdWallet, it can also lead to quite the expense. The consumer finance website reports that the true cost of a speeding ticket in Minnesota is actually 3.59 times the amount of the actual ticket, once factors such as an increase in insurance premiums are taken into account.

As a speeding ticket defense lawyer Minneapolis knows, it is important for residents to understand what a seemingly simple violation can actually cost and what to do following a ticket.

Determining the true cost

According to the Minnesota Judicial Branch, a fine for speeding at 15 miles an hour over the limit is $145. However, NerdWallet found that such a traffic offense actually costs an average of $520.11 for that same ticket. In Minneapolis, the actual cost averages $564, and in Prior Lake, where speeding tickets cost drivers the most, that number reaches $670. There are several factors that will affect the true price tag of a speeding citation, including the following:

  • Where the ticket was issued
  • The driver’s history
  • The driver’s insurance policy

NerdWallet reports that just one speeding ticket for going 15 mph over the posted limit can increase a car insurance premium by 9.97 percent, which averages to a $125.04 increase.

There are other consequences to consider, aside from money. For example, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety can suspend, revoke or cancel someone’s driver’s license due to certain circumstances, such as too many traffic violations. People may also have to participate in a driver improvement course depending on their history.

After a ticket

There are several options for people who have been issued a citation. As a speeding ticket defense lawyer in Minneapolis knows, in some circumstances, drivers simply admit guilt and pay the fine. Under another option, they may also pay the required fees but request a continuance for dismissal, which will dismiss the ticket as long as the motorist does not have another traffic violation within a certain timeframe.

In some situations, drivers pulled over for speeding may choose to request a court date to fight the ticket. A common defense to speeding tickets include discrediting the law enforcement member’s method of obtaining the driver’s speed. People may also argue that the weather and road conditions were safe for the speed at which they were traveling. A speeding ticket defense lawyer in Minneapolis will help drivers understand how and why a ticket was issued as well as build a strong defense in an effort to reduce or dismiss the charges.

Max Keller has won countless jury trial cases involving misdemeanors and felonies, sex crimes, and DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. Max is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.
Years of Experience: Approx. 20 years
Minnesota Registration Status: Active
Bar & Court Admissions:
State of Minnesota
Minnesota State Court
Minnesota Federal Court
8th Circuit Federal Court of Appeals
State of Maryland”

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

Getting falsely accused of domestic violence in Minnesota may put you at risk of losing your job, custody of your children, or even your home. You may face criminal charges and the accusation may damage your reputation in the community, as people will now view you as an abuser. False domestic violence accusations often happen when couples are in a contentious relationship with a risk of divorce.
The top reasons for license suspension in Minnesota include driving under the influence of alcohol, repeated traffic violations, and failure to appear in court or pay fines. Failure to pay child support, criminal convictions and felonies, medical conditions/disabilities, and drag racing can also lead to license suspension. The suspension takes away your driving privileges, preventing you from driving legally.
Motorists arrested for allegedly driving while impaired might wonder, “Can you refuse a breathalyzer?” In Minnesota, the implied consent law requires a person licensed to drive, control, or operate a vehicle to agree to a chemical test to check for alcohol or other intoxicants in that person’s body. Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer or another chemical test is a crime, often charged as a gross misdemeanor.