Call Us Today:
(952) 913-1421
Call Us Today:
(952) 913-1421

Minneapolis Criminal Defense Law FAQ’s

The Minneapolis criminal defense law firm of Keller Law Offices is dedicated to protecting clients’ legal rights and vigorously defending them against criminal charges. We pride ourselves keeping our clients informed of their legal rights and the progress of their case. We take the time to adequately explain the legal and factual issues involved with a case so that our clients can make informed decisions.

If you are facing Minnesota criminal charges, contact the Minneapolis criminal defense law firm of Keller Law Offices at (952) 913-1421 today to schedule a free consultation. In the meantime, below are answers to some of our most frequently asked questions.

What should I do if I am arrested?

If you are arrested, it is very important that you immediately speak with an attorney. Do not make a statement to the police or answer their questions without an attorney present. At Keller Law Offices, we are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week to advise clients following an arrest. Contact our office today at (952) 913-1421 to schedule a free consultation.

What is the difference between a felony and misdemeanor?

A felony typically involves more serious charges, with incarceration of more than one year. Misdemeanors or gross misdemeanors are punishable with jail terms of less than one year. Felony convictions will also impact your life for years to come by barring you from holding certain jobs, voting, and carrying a weapon.

What constitutional rights do I have if I am charged with a crime?

The Constitution affords defendants a number of rights, including:

  • Protection from illegal searches and seizures (4th Amendment)
  • Right to remain silent, receive Miranda warnings at the time of arrest, and protection against double jeopardy (5th Amendment)
  • Right to a speedy trial, the right to an impartial jury, the right to assistance of counsel, the right to cross-examine witnesses at trial, the right to be informed of the charges and potential punishments, and the right to compel witnesses to appear in court (6th Amendment)
  • Prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment (8th Amendment)
  • Various due process rights (14th Amendment)

If I lost my license due to a DWI conviction, is there anything I can do to get my license back?

In most cases, you must challenge the revocation of your driver’s license within 30 days from the date of your arrest by filing an “Implied Consent Petition” with the court administrator’s office and paying the filing fee. Hiring an experienced Minnesota DWI defense attorney like those at Keller Law Offices can be incredibly helpful to getting your license back.

If I lost my driver’s license due to a DWI conviction, how do I get a work permit or limited license?

In order to get a work permit, you must wait the specified mandatory waiting period, which varies from 15 days for most first-time offenders (unless you test .20 or more, in which case it is one year) to up to one year, depending on: (1) whether you took the test or refused; (2) whether you tested .16 or more; and (3) the number of prior DWI’s you have. Because of the growing complexity of DWI law, including defenses and penalties, it is highly recommended that you hire an experienced Minnesota DWI defense attorney like Max A. Keller to help you navigate DWI system so that you can obtain a work permit or license reinstatement as soon as possible.

1 2 3
Get legal advice from Max Keller
GET A FREE CASE CONSULTATION
CONTACT US