Felony DWI For Man Facing 28th DWI In Minnesota

A man was arrested for felony level driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Crow Wing, Minnesota. This was his 28th DWI in Minnesota over his lifetime. Danny Bettcher had a valid license at the time but the license had a no use of alcohol restriction. He previously served a four-year prison sentence and has a felony DWI on his record. He was caught leaving the VFW and went through a stop sign and swerved on the highway while driving 10 miles per hour. He was then pulled over where officers noticed that his eyes were bloodshot and watery. He refused sobriety tests and admitted that he was over the legal limit.

He had been ordered to obtain treatment on numerous occasions in the past. Bettcher is currently in custody and is awaiting his next court appearance on October 30. His bail is currently set at $100,000. If convicted, Bettcher is facing a seven-year prison sentence where he would have to serve 2/3 of the sentence in prison and the rest on supervised release. Prior court records show that he had post-traumatic stress disorder from his time in the military. He has the most DWI’s in the state of Minnesota over a lifetime.

Felony DWI includes instances where there are three aggravating factors or if the driver has a prior felony DWI. A Felony DWI is classified as a 1st degree driving while intoxicated. Because Bettcher has a felony DWI in the past, his current DWI case is automatically charged out as a felony. The maximum sentence is seven years of jail and a fine of up to $14,000. The mandatory minimum for a first time felony DWI is 180 days of jail. Ask a criminal defense attorney about options for electronic home monitoring in conjunction with jail time. Other consequences will include a driver’s license revocation, plate impoundment, and a vehicle forfeiture. For more information about deadlines and necessary filings for the license and forfeiture cases, contact the attorneys at Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys.

If you have been charged with DWI, contact an attorney right away. Invoke your right to silence and call Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys. Our phone number is also listed in many of the phone directories in the jails throughout Minnesota. Max Keller is a 24-hour criminal lawyer. Because Max Keller is a 24-hour criminal lawyer, the phones are answered in the middle of the night to offer guidance to individuals in custody. A 24-hour criminal lawyer is always available and willing to talk to people who are seeking legal advice. Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys also offers a free consultation. The 24-hour criminal lawyers at Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys will take the time to find out the facts and circumstances before giving any legal advice. Call 612-210-0629 if you have been charged with a crime. Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys offers payment plans in most cases. We will talk with you about the process and steps that need to be taken to handle your case. We are aggressive and will take your case to trial. Please visit the firm’s website at www.kellerlawoffices.com.

Max Keller has won countless jury trial cases involving misdemeanors and felonies, sex crimes, and DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. Max is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

Getting falsely accused of domestic violence in Minnesota may put you at risk of losing your job, custody of your children, or even your home. You may face criminal charges and the accusation may damage your reputation in the community, as people will now view you as an abuser. False domestic violence accusations often happen when couples are in a contentious relationship with a risk of divorce.
The top reasons for license suspension in Minnesota include driving under the influence of alcohol, repeated traffic violations, and failure to appear in court or pay fines. Failure to pay child support, criminal convictions and felonies, medical conditions/disabilities, and drag racing can also lead to license suspension. The suspension takes away your driving privileges, preventing you from driving legally.
Motorists arrested for allegedly driving while impaired might wonder, “Can you refuse a breathalyzer?” In Minnesota, the implied consent law requires a person licensed to drive, control, or operate a vehicle to agree to a chemical test to check for alcohol or other intoxicants in that person’s body. Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer or another chemical test is a crime, often charged as a gross misdemeanor.