Are future changes coming to Minnesota’s criminal system?

In light of several high-profile cases regarding the way law enforcement deals with civilians, the national media has given substantial attention lately to the how the criminal justice system works. The coverage has not only caught the attention of any criminal defense attorney MN, but has sparked activists and legislators to start considering reforms across the board, including in Minnesota programs and at the federal level.

Restoring the vote

In 2009, Minnesota passed a Ban the Box law, which prevents public employers from asking applicants about their criminal history during the initial hiring phase. At the beginning of 2014, private employers were also prohibited from requesting such information at the start of the process.

Going a step further, advocates are pushing for people who are on parole or probation to regain the right to vote. Under current Minnesota statute, a person with a felony criminal conviction is not eligible to vote. Groups such as Restore the Vote Minnesota state that the existing law creates a misrepresentation of the population, as there is a disproportion between the number of Caucasians and minorities who are convicted of felonies. According to a report from Minnesota Daily, last year more than 25 percent of felony offenders in the state were black and unable to vote due to their criminal record.

Sex offender system

Another potential change coming to Minnesota involves the current corrections policy for habitual sex offenders. According to Minnesota Daily, a state representative is planning to propose a bill that would put in place a minimum 60-year prison sentence for people who have repeatedly been charged with a crime involving sex offenses.

As any criminal defense attorney in MN knows, the existing treatment program has often been called out for its shortcomings. Even a federal judge in 2014 stated that the Minnesota Sex Offender Program may violate the U.S. Constitution, according to a report from the Star Tribune.

The Star Tribune reports that the MSOP currently holds 700 offenders. Critics state that the program places the convicted people in prison-like treatment centers that often hold them longer than their prison sentences. The proposed legislation would instead place people in the care of the Minnesota Department of Corrections, taking into account the severity of the crime and the mental health status of the defendant.

A sociology professor at the University of Minnesota told the Minnesota Daily that people have recently been more open to criminal justice reform. Anyone with questions regarding these potential changes should consult with a criminal defense attorney in MN.

Max Keller has won countless jury trial cases involving misdemeanors and felonies, sex crimes, and DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. Max is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

Getting falsely accused of domestic violence in Minnesota may put you at risk of losing your job, custody of your children, or even your home. You may face criminal charges and the accusation may damage your reputation in the community, as people will now view you as an abuser. False domestic violence accusations often happen when couples are in a contentious relationship with a risk of divorce.
The top reasons for license suspension in Minnesota include driving under the influence of alcohol, repeated traffic violations, and failure to appear in court or pay fines. Failure to pay child support, criminal convictions and felonies, medical conditions/disabilities, and drag racing can also lead to license suspension. The suspension takes away your driving privileges, preventing you from driving legally.
Motorists arrested for allegedly driving while impaired might wonder, “Can you refuse a breathalyzer?” In Minnesota, the implied consent law requires a person licensed to drive, control, or operate a vehicle to agree to a chemical test to check for alcohol or other intoxicants in that person’s body. Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer or another chemical test is a crime, often charged as a gross misdemeanor.