Man accused of criminal vehicular homicide reports medical condition

Many people in Minnesota are closely following the accident that happened outside of Harding High School in St. Paul. Earlier in the month, a 50-year-old man was arrested on suspicion of criminal vehicular homicide after police say he lost control of his SUV and drove down an embankment and into a 16-year-old. He was taken into custody at the scene of the accident and was held on $100,000 bail.

Now, the driver is coming forward and reporting that he suffered numbness in his arm and legs, causing the accident. According to the man, he was driving when he started to notice that a loss of feeling in his left leg and right arm. Soon, both arm and leg were completely numb. Shortly after, his right leg also went numb, causing him to lose control of the vehicle.

Though he tried to stop, the man was unable to do so. He tried to press the brake but ended up hitting the gas, sending his SUV into a fire hydrant, the sidewalk and finally into the teenager.

The 50-year-old has made his first appearance in court and was formally charged with criminal vehicular homicide. The teenager’s family members have seemingly rejected the man’s remorse and apologies, insisting that they receive justice. The teenager’s aunt has said that the driver needs to be punished for driving with a medical condition; a condition which seemingly can’t be helped.

The driver had previously gone to the doctor for his numbness, but his doctor was not able to find anything the matter.

Source: Start Tribune, “SUV driver is charged in St. Paul student’s death,” Anthony Lonetree, July 10, 2012

He has won jury trial cases in misdemeanor and felony cases and in DWI’s and non-DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. He is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

People facing criminal charges in Minnesota often ask, “Can you defend yourself in court?” You can represent yourself in court when charged with a crime. Self-representation, however, is not typically in the accused's best interests, even if courts allow it.
Parents whose children have been arrested or accused of committing a heinous crime might wonder, “Can a minor be charged with a felony?” A minor aged 14 years or older but below 18 years may face felony charges in Minnesota.
People accused of or under investigation for assault might ask, “What are the charges for assault?” Minnesota has five levels of assault charges. First-degree assault is the most serious offense, and a conviction often results in the most severe penalties, like long prison time and hefty fines.