Under Minnesota’s Vanessa’s Law, Prom Season and Alcohol = Bad Mix

A Drinking and Driving violation in Minnesota during prom season for an underage age and/or unlicensed driver could mean the that driver loses his or her license for two years! Teen drivers also receive harsher penalties for violating the law than do drivers over the age of 18. One such example is known as Vanessa’s Law.

Vanessa’s Law includes, but is not limited to, those charged with DWI and underage drinking and driving, and leaving the scene of an accident. It states:

  1. An unlicensed driver under the age of 18 who receives a crash-related traffic violation may not receive a driver’s license, including an instruction permit or provisional license, until the driver turns 18.
  2. An unlicensed driver who receives an alcohol or controlled substance
    violation may not receive a driver’s license, including an instruction permit or provisional license,until the driver turns 18. “Alcohol and controlled substance violation” includes a DWI, an implied consent violation, an underage drinking and driving (i.e. an alcohol content over .00, while driver is under the age of 21), and even an open bottle violation. Yes, if you are an unlicensed driver under the age of 18, and there is an open container of alcohol in your vehicle, you can lose the opportunity to receive a driver’s license until you turn 18, even if your alcohol content is .00.
  3. A driver with a provisional license who receives an alcohol/controlled substance revocation of the driver’s licenses or a crash-related traffic violation loses the provisional license until the driver turns 18.
  4. Any driver under 21 convicted of an underage drink and drive offense, loses their license for a least 30 days, with no Limited License or Work Permit available during that 30 days Driver’s License Suspension period

A teen driver whose license is revoked under Vanessa’s Law must undergo a number of steps to regain a license. The individual must:

  1. Serve the withdrawal period.
  2. Pass a written knowledge test,
  3. If unlicensed, make an application for a new driver’s license and pay all appropriate fees. The individual must then hold an instruction permit for 6 months before taking a road test. If the individual is over the age of 19, he or she only needs to hold the instruction permit for 3 months before taking the road test.
  4. If the individual held a provisional license at the time of the incident leading to revocation, the individual must first pay the $680 reinstatement fee. Then they must complete a 30 hour classroom driver’s education course. At this point, they may apply for an instruction permit, which is given in addition to the driver’s license. The instruction permit is held for three months. While the instruction permit is held, the individual must complete six hours of behind-the-wheel driver education programs.

If you have been charged with a crime under Vanessa’s Law, does not mean you are out of options. You may have legitimate defenses. An aggressive, experienced criminal defense attorney like Max A. Keller, can use these defenses and fight to get your driver’s license back and keep both your driving record and criminal record clean. Contact Max A. Keller today in order to discuss your case.

Max Keller has won countless jury trial cases involving misdemeanors and felonies, sex crimes, and DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. Max is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

Years of Experience: Approx. 20 years
Minnesota Registration Status: Active
Bar & Court Admissions: State of Minnesota Minnesota State Court Minnesota Federal Court 8th Circuit Federal Court of Appeals State of Maryland

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

One of the questions people facing a criminal charge ask is: How long does a criminal case take? The timeline of your criminal case in Minnesota will depend on the nature and severity of the alleged crime, the speed of the criminal justice system, the duration of the trial, and whether an appeal will be necessary. Delays at any stage of the criminal justice process may impact how long your criminal case will last. Generally, however, misdemeanor cases may resolve within weeks or months, while felony cases may linger in courts for up to a year.
People accused, arrested, or charged with a crime often ask, “How much does a criminal defense lawyer cost in Minneapolis, MN?” It is difficult to accurately determine how much a criminal defense lawyer will cost. The reason is that numerous factors impact the cost of legal representation in criminal matters. These factors include the type and severity of criminal charges, the lawyer’s experience and reputation, required time and effort, and geographical location.
Social media can have legal implications, particularly when it comes to criminal cases. Since its advent, social media has become a powerful tool for communication and self-expression. As of 2023, an estimated 4.9 billion people worldwide use social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram to share thoughts, experiences, and moments from their lives. However, in this digital age, social media activity can be used as evidence in criminal cases in Minneapolis and elsewhere.