A mother was killed by her two-year-old son in Spokane, Washington. Veronica Rutledge had a concealed weapons permit and had a gun with her in her purse. She was shopping at Wal-Mart when her son went into her purse and shot her in the head. The gun was zipped into a pouch in her purse. The manager of the store was able to take the gun from her son before evacuating the customers. Unfortunately, Rutledge died immediately from the gunshot. 7% of Idaho residents have concealed weapon permits.
In Minnesota, individuals can obtain a permit to carry a weapon through the sheriff’s office in the county they reside in. Individuals interested in obtaining a permit to carry must be 21 years old, must complete an application, must not be prohibited from carrying a weapon, and cannot be on the criminal gang investigation system. The individual must live in the county where the permit is being requested and individuals must provide a certificate of completion of firearms training. In Minnesota a person who carries, holds, or possessors a pistol without first having obtained a permit to carry is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. A second or subsequent offense would be categorized as a felony.
If you have been charged with failure to obtain a permit to carry, contact Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys. Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys offers free consultations. A criminal attorney will be able to evaluate the evidence against you and negotiate an offer with the prosecutor. Max Keller will take your case to trial depending on the facts and circumstances of your case. A criminal attorney can also help individuals with the process of obtaining a permit to carry. Max Keller is a criminal attorney and had 17 years of experience. Our office is located downtown Minneapolis, Minnesota. Call 952-913-1421 today.