Woman Sentenced for Criminal Vehicular Homicide (CVO or CVH) for Texting Causing Death

Last week, for a Waseca County Criminal Vehicular Homicide ((CVO or CVH) woman was sentenced to 480 hours of community service and ten years of probation. She was charged with CVH because she caused the death of a driver of another vehicle while texting and speeding. She also also had several previous traffic citiatons for speeding and other offenses, and got another speeding ticket while this case was pending.

Under Minnesota Impaired Driving Laws, Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Injury (CVO or CVH) requires a finding of Gross Negligence OR simple negligence WHILE driving impaired or at .08 or more alcohol concentration.  Under the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines, the presumptive Sentence for CVH or causing a death while DWI is 48 months (4 years) for a driver with no prior felony convictions. Many persons have been charged with CVH who not only have no felony convictions, but who have never even gotten a DWI before like Amy Senser.  In order to avoid a 4 year Prison Sentence, if you are charged with injurying or killing someone while driving drunk or distracted (like texting while driving), then you need an experienced Minnesota Felony Criminal Vehicular Operation Attorney now.

He has won jury trial cases in misdemeanor and felony cases and in DWI’s and non-DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. He is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

Minnesota’s new marijuana law legalizes marijuana for recreational purposes for adults 21 years or older. The new law makes it unlawful for employers to take action against their employees for off-duty cannabis use. It also prohibits them from refusing to hire an applicant who tests positive for cannabis or requiring applicants to take pre-employment cannabis testing.
Is weed legal in Minnesota? Currently, weed is legal for medical and recreational use in the state. A new Minnesota law legalized weed for recreational use on August 1, 2023. Persons aged 21-years or older may possess or carry a maximum of two ounces of marijuana flower in public.
People arrested or accused of possessing cocaine might ask, “how much coke is a felony?” Possessing controlled substances like cocaine is a felony in Minneapolis, MN. If found with 0 to 3 grams of coke, the crime will be treated as a fifth-degree felony, attracting penalties like $10,000 fines and up to 5 years in jail.