Criminal Vehicular Homicide Charges For Man In Hennepin County

A Man is facing criminal vehicular homicide charges after he hit a traffic post in Hennepin County, Minnesota. The man then fled from the scene and was on the run. He killed a 20-year-old student at the University of St. Thomas after she died from head injuries. The crash occurred in the early morning on Sunday around 3:30 a.m. The man’s identification was found near the woman, which led police to a home in Northeast Minneapolis where they learned that the man was intoxicated prior to leaving the home. It was reported that the driver is Michael Laurence Campbell. The deceased was a passenger in his vehicle where she was found trapped in the vehicle. He is currently being held in custody at the Hennepin County Jail awaiting formal charges.

Pursuant to Minnesota statute 609.2112, a motorist can be found guilty of criminal vehicular homicide in many ways. The statute lays out that a driver is guilty of criminal vehicular homicide when the person causes the death of a human as a result of operating a motor vehicle in a grossly negligent manner in a negligent manner while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, or having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more or having an alcohol concentration of .08 within two hours of driving, in a negligent manner while knowingly under the influence of a hazardous substance or with any controlled substance listed in schedule I or II or its metabolite, when the driver causes the collision and leaves the scene of the accident, where the driver had actual knowledge that a peace officer had previously issued a citation or warning that the motor vehicle was defectively maintained, the driver had actual knowledge that remedial action was not taken, the driver had reason to know that the defect created a present danger to others, and the death was caused by the defective maintenance.

A person convicted of criminal vehicular homicide may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years and/or a fine of $20,000. Criminal vehicular homicide is a felony in Minnesota. In Minnesota, criminal vehicular homicide and injury can also result in the loss of license. Typically, the driver will receive a notice and order of revocation of a their driver’s license soon after the accident and before their first court appearance. The attorneys at Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys will investigate the case and will hire an accident reconstructionist on your behalf. It is best to hire a lawyer right after the accident. In some cases, the attorneys can help minimize the consequences before ever appearing in court.

If you have been charged with a traffic offense, specifically criminal vehicular homicide, contact Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys. A Minnesota Defense lawyer will be able to view the evidence and see what defenses apply in your case. A Minnesota county Defense lawyer can challenge the evidence in your case. Max Keller is a criminal lawyer in Minnesota. Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys offers free consultations. Max Keller has handled many traffic violation cases and has represented criminal vehicular homicide cases in the past. Please visit the firm’s website at For more information about potential defenses, call 612-210-0629.

He has won jury trial cases in misdemeanor and felony cases and in DWI’s and non-DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. He is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

People facing criminal charges in Minnesota often ask, “Can you defend yourself in court?” You can represent yourself in court when charged with a crime. Self-representation, however, is not typically in the accused's best interests, even if courts allow it.
Parents whose children have been arrested or accused of committing a heinous crime might wonder, “Can a minor be charged with a felony?” A minor aged 14 years or older but below 18 years may face felony charges in Minnesota.
People accused of or under investigation for assault might ask, “What are the charges for assault?” Minnesota has five levels of assault charges. First-degree assault is the most serious offense, and a conviction often results in the most severe penalties, like long prison time and hefty fines.