Keller Law Offices logo2
Call Us Today:
(952) 913-1421
Call Us Today:
(952) 913-1421

Felony Assault Charges For Minnesota Man

Felony Assault Charges For Minnesota Man

Jeff Dubay was charged with assault in Washington County, Minnesota. He was charged with the felony assault charge after an altercation with a woman in Cottage Grove. Dubay has a prior criminal record involving possession of cocaine and methamphetamine. He was a radio host back in 2008 but got fired after being charged with drug possession. Dubay was sentenced to six months of jail just last year from a drug possession charge and was on probation. Because Dubay has been charged with felony assault, the assault charge will violate him on his drug case from last year, which will likely lead to more jail time or a possible prison sentence.

In Minnesota, there are many levels of assaults depending on the type of injury and force used. There are five levels of assault in Minnesota ranging from 5th degree to 1st degree. 5th Degree assault is the least serious and is a misdemeanor and can be a result of a simple battery. Typically the defendant has to have intended to cause fear of bodily harm or injury or intentionally inflicted or attempted to inflict bodily harm. 4th degree assault is a gross misdemeanor which typically results from assaulting a police officer, school official, firefighter or EMT that is working at the time. Third, second, and first degree assault are all considered felonies in Minnesota.

What is felony assault?

Under Minnesota Statute 609.223, Third degree assault occurs when: whoever assaults another and inflicts substantial bodily harm may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both. 2nd degree assault is when there is a use of a dangerous weapon. Contact Keller Law Offices for more definitions of what Minnesota Law defines as a dangerous weapon. First-degree assault is the highest level of felony assault means the defendant caused great bodily harm to another, which means a substantial risk of death. First-degree assault carries a penalty of up to 20 years in jail and up to a $30,000 fine.

If you have been charged with a crime as a result of an assault, contact Keller Law Offices immediately. Keller Law Offices has two criminal justice attorneys. A criminal justice attorney will be able to fight the charges against you. The criminal justice attorneys handle all types of criminal matters. Call 612-210-0629 for a free consultation. Keller Law Offices is located downtown Minneapolis, MN and offer payment plans in most cases. Keller Law Offices will take the charges seriously and are ready to take the case to trial if needed.

There are a number of defenses to these crimes and many ways to keep charges from going on your record. Do not go into court without an experienced criminal justice attorney. Do not go in and plead guilty without first seeking legal advice from a criminal justice attorney. There are many defenses to assault cases such as self-defense or and alternate perpetrator defense. Keller Law Offices has great success when it comes to winning cases at trial and getting cases dismissed before the trial is held.

Get legal advice from Max Keller
GET A FREE CASE CONSULTATION
CONTACT US