Minnesota Health Care Fraud Charge Requires Criminal Defense Lawyer

Health care fraud is a very serious offense in Minnesota. It is also a crime. If the Minnesota Department of Human Services (“DHS”) finds fraud, you will be charged with a crime in state or federal court. Examples of fraud by health care providers that the DHS Office of the Inspector General regulates include things like false and fraudulent claims submitted by health care providers, altering claims, overbilling, billing for health care services that weren’t provided, reporting false employment hours, and providing false time sheets.  The DHS may audit your healthcare company or respond to a tip provided to them. If your company is audited, the DHS will find any discrepancies in reporting and accounting.

Even if a mistake was made with no fraudulent “intent,” it is still possible to be charged with a crime. DHS has many rules that come into play and providers must strictly adhere to them. The DHS will also likely seek fines and restitution. The fines and restitution can be hundreds of thousands of dollars and in some cases millions. If you retain an attorney at the beginning of an investigation conducted by DHS, it is possible you can avoid charges all together. Minnesota Criminal Defense Lawyer Max A. Keller often goes to interviews conducted by the DHS with his clients. Max Keller will also work on getting your money back if health care programs withhold your money during the DHS investigation.

Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys is experienced when dealing with health care fraud charges. If you have been charged with health care fraud, contact Max Keller. It is important to call as soon as your documents are seized upon received a search warrant. Make sure to be represented by a health care fraud attorney before making any statements to the DHS. If you are unsure whether your company is following proper procedures regulated by the DHS, contact Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys. You do not need to wait for an investigation to find out whether your company is following the regulatory rules. Contact 952-913-1421 for a free consultation.

He has won jury trial cases in misdemeanor and felony cases and in DWI’s and non-DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. He is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

People facing criminal charges in Minnesota often ask, “Can you defend yourself in court?” You can represent yourself in court when charged with a crime. Self-representation, however, is not typically in the accused's best interests, even if courts allow it.
Parents whose children have been arrested or accused of committing a heinous crime might wonder, “Can a minor be charged with a felony?” A minor aged 14 years or older but below 18 years may face felony charges in Minnesota.
People accused of or under investigation for assault might ask, “What are the charges for assault?” Minnesota has five levels of assault charges. First-degree assault is the most serious offense, and a conviction often results in the most severe penalties, like long prison time and hefty fines.