Keller Law Offices logo2
Call Us Today:
(952) 913-1421
Call Us Today:
(952) 913-1421

What You Need to Know about Minnesota’s Drunk Driving Laws

What You Need to Know about Minnesota’s Drunk Driving Laws

Minnesota takes drunk driving very seriously. If you get caught behind the wheel while intoxicated, you face severe penalties and other serious repercussions. The best defense to a drunk driving charge is to never drink and drive, but if you do find yourself facing Minnesota DWI charges, you should promptly contact a skilled drunk driving lawyer. Twin Cities DWI law firm of Keller Law Offices focuses on helping clients who are facing DWI charges, whether a first offense or a repeat offense. We will educate you on your legal options, calm your worries, and build the strongest defense possible in order to minimize potential penalties.

Minnesota Drunk Driving Laws

For persons over the age of 21, Minnesota prohibits operating a motor vehicle if you have a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08 or higher. For persons under the age of 21, a BAC of anything over 0.00 is prohibited.

Minnesota DWI Penalties for First Offense

If you have been charged with a Minnesota DWI, the potential penalties can be harsh and severe, with a long-lasting impact on your life. For a first DWI offense, you could face the following penalties:

  • 90 days in jail and/or $1,000 fine if BAC was under .20
  • One year in jail and/or $3,000 fine if BAC .20 or higher
  • Loss of driving privileges for 90 days, or up to one year if a child was in the car or BAC was more than .16
  • Vehicle forfeiture

Minnesota DWI Penalties for Repeat Offenses

With each subsequent DWI charge, the potential penalties also increase. Multiple drunk driving arrests could land you in jail, place your job in jeopardy, and even result in felony charges.

A second DWI offense could result in the above-listed penalties, as well as a one year suspension of driving privileges or a vehicle interlock system. A third DWI offense could result in one year of jail time, a $3,000 fine, and vehicle forfeiture. And a fourth DWI offense is considered a felony DWI that is punishable by up to 7 years in jail, $14,000 fine, vehicle forfeiture, and cancellation of drivers’ license.

Other Repercussions of DWI Charges

Not only does a DWI conviction come with hefty criminal penalties, but it can also significantly damage your reputation and livelihood. If you are convicted of a Minnesota DWI, your insurance rates will likely increase and, because your license privileges may be revoked temporarily, you make have difficulties getting to and from work. A DWI conviction can also make it difficult to volunteer and it can cause serious damage to your reputation, as well.

Minimize or Eliminate DWI Penalties

Because the penalties are severe – whether a first DWI offense or a repeat DWI offense – it is critical to consult with an experienced Minnesota DWI attorney. Minneapolis DWI lawyer Max A. Keller has the experience you need to defend your case, protect your legal rights, and minimize the potential DWI penalties. He familiar with a number of specific issues pertaining to Minnesota DWI charges, including ignition interlock, license plate impoundment, vehicle forfeiture and job loss due to DWI. Moreover, his prior experience as a prosecutor in the Minnesota Attorney General’s office has given him the skill and knowledge necessary to provide you with the legal defense that you deserve.

Call Now for a Free Consultation

If you are facing DWI charges, do not delay. Contact the Minneapolis criminal defense law firm of Keller Law Offices at (952) 913-1421 today to learn more about how we can help defend you in your DWI case.

Get legal advice from Max Keller
GET A FREE CASE CONSULTATION
CONTACT US