Outstanding Violations In Other States May Affect Minnesota Driving Privileges

The Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services Division (DVS) of the Department of Public Safety (DPS) wants drivers with outstanding driving violations in other states to be aware that those violations may affect their Minnesota driving privileges starting October 11, 2011.

The Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999 (MCSIA) requires all states to verify that a person applying for a driver’s license or learner’s permit has no unresolved sanctions (suspension, revocation, cancelation or withdrawal of driving privileges) or a history of serious violations in another state.

This mandate prevents drivers from obtaining a license from more than one state or hiding convictions among several states and driving records. The cooperative exchange of problem driver information between states is helping to improve safety on the nation’s highways.

DVS checks with the Problem Driver Pointer System (PDPS) and the Commercial Driver License Information System (CDLIS) for all class drivers. For commercial drivers, the Social Security Online Verification System (SSOLV), is also checked as required by federal regulations.


Beginning October 11, 2011, the application process for a Minnesota driver’s license or learner’s permit will include a series of verification checks to reduce the likelihood of Minnesota issuing a driver’s license or learner’s permit to an ineligible driver.

This applies to applications for a Minnesota driver’s license, applications for a learner’s permit, individuals who want to change the name or address on their Minnesota license and to drivers who are looking to renew, upgrade or add an endorsement to their license.

Drivers who are aware that their driving privilege in another state has been suspended, revoked, canceled or withdrawn are encouraged to resolve the matter before attempting to apply, renew, change or upgrade a Minnesota driver’s license. If the matter is not resolved, a driver will not be allowed to complete the application process to obtain a Minnesota driving credential (commercial or non-commercial) until the sanction in the other state is resolved.

If you are having problems obtaining a license in Minnesota because of violations in another state OR if you are having problems in another state because of old violations that occurred in Minnesota, contact the experienced Criminal Defense and Driver Licensing Attorneys at Keller Criminal Defense Attorneys TODAY.

He has won jury trial cases in misdemeanor and felony cases and in DWI’s and non-DWI’s. He is a member of the Minnesota Society for Criminal Justice, which only allows the top 50 criminal defense attorneys in the state as members. He is a frequent speaker at CLE’s and is often asked for advice by other defense attorneys across Minnesota.

What to Do If You Have Been Charged with a Criminal Offense

People facing criminal charges in Minnesota often ask, “Can you defend yourself in court?” You can represent yourself in court when charged with a crime. Self-representation, however, is not typically in the accused's best interests, even if courts allow it.
Parents whose children have been arrested or accused of committing a heinous crime might wonder, “Can a minor be charged with a felony?” A minor aged 14 years or older but below 18 years may face felony charges in Minnesota.
People accused of or under investigation for assault might ask, “What are the charges for assault?” Minnesota has five levels of assault charges. First-degree assault is the most serious offense, and a conviction often results in the most severe penalties, like long prison time and hefty fines.