Is weed legal in Minnesota? Currently, weed is legal for medical and recreational use in the state. A new Minnesota law legalized weed for recreational use on August 1, 2023. Persons aged 21-years or older may possess or carry a maximum of two ounces of marijuana flower in public.
People arrested or accused of possessing cocaine might ask, “how much coke is a felony?” Possessing controlled substances like cocaine is a felony in Minneapolis, MN. If found with 0 to 3 grams of coke, the crime will be treated as a fifth-degree felony, attracting penalties like $10,000 fines and up to 5 years in jail.
Knowing how to beat an assault charge in Minneapolis, MN, can help you avoid a conviction and other consequences that come with it. Hiring a criminal defense attorney is your best bet at emerging victorious when facing an assault charge.
When convicted of a criminal offense, the court will have your criminal record. The record usually consists of your past convictions. In Minnesota, arrest records are part of a criminal record. However, you can have the record expunged. Petty misdemeanor, traffic, and criminal cases fall under Minnesota's judicial branch. As such, your driving records will form part of your criminal records, regardless of the nature of the traffic offense.
So, what is the exclusionary rule, and how does it apply to your case? The exclusionary rule is a court-driven rule that takes effect when evidence in a criminal case is unlawfully obtained. In your case, a court might use the exclusionary rule if the illegally obtained evidence helped the officers get other pieces of evidence they would not have found otherwise. The secondary evidence subject to the exclusionary rule is referred to as the fruit of the poisonous tree doctrine. The exclusionary rule borrows its reasoning from constitutional rights. So, it applies to criminal cases as a deterrent and remedy rather than a standalone constitutional right.
The Minnesota hit-and-run statute covers collisions involving unattended vehicles and fixed objects. As such, you must stop at the collision scene if your vehicle hits an unattended vehicle. The law also mandates you to find out what was hit. If it's clear that the accident caused physical damage to the unattended vehicle, you have to locate and alert the vehicle's owner or driver. You also need to give this information to a police officer. The report should include your name, address, vehicle registration details, and insurance information. For a collision i