Parents whose children have been arrested or accused of committing a heinous crime might wonder, “Can a minor be charged with a felony?” A minor aged 14 years or older but below 18 years may face felony charges in Minnesota.
In July, a Minneapolis father boarded a city bus with the intention of confronting teenagers who allegedly had been bullying his son. According to My Fox Twin Cities, the man engaged in an argument with the teens. The bus driver told law enforcement that one of the youths, a 16-year-old, pulled out a gun.
Not only are cases involving child protective services (CPS) emotionally challenging, but they are legally rather complex as well. While there are certainly cases in which CPS is necessary in order to protect a child, in some cases, families face false allegations and an unnecessary CPS investigation.
John LaDue, a 17 year old, is a juvenile who is awaiting the results of his certification study to determine whether he will be tried as an adult or as a juvenile for his juvenile crime. He is from Waseca, Minnesota and denied all charges at his first court appearance. He is currently in juvenile court and prosecutors are trying to get him certified as an adult.
A recent informal survey taken at the University of Minnesota indicates that many students at the U may believe that drinking and riding a bicycle could lead to driving while impaired charges in Minnesota. Generally, the Minnesota DWI statutes do not apply to a bicycle, if the bike is powered solely by a human being.
Minnesota law prohibits driving while impaired for all drivers. Most Minnesotans understand that the state presumes impairment if a blood, breath or urine test reveals an alcohol level of 0.08 percent or greater. Generally, prosecutors can seek DWI charges based upon other evidence of impairment, such as an arresting officer’s observations or testimony from other witnesses that the state believes shows impairment.