Blog

For those ensnared in the Minnesota justice system, the question looms: What percentage of criminal appeals are successful? Navigating the intricate landscape of criminal appeals demands a nuanced understanding of legal precedent, procedural intricacies, and regional trends.
Appealing a criminal conviction in Minnesota, including for a gross misdemeanor, can be a complex and daunting task. Understanding the legal procedures and requirements is crucial for anyone seeking to challenge a verdict.
The criminal appeals process in Minnesota isn't exclusive to defendants alone; various parties hold the right to contest a verdict. It is important to know who can appeal in a criminal case to understand your rights and options. Primarily, defendants dissatisfied with a judgment may initiate an appeal, presenting their case to a higher court. However, it doesn't end there.
People facing criminal charges in Minnesota often ask, “Can you defend yourself in court?” You can represent yourself in court when charged with a crime. Self-representation, however, is not typically in the accused's best interests, even if courts allow it.
Parents whose children have been arrested or accused of committing a heinous crime might wonder, “Can a minor be charged with a felony?” A minor aged 14 years or older but below 18 years may face felony charges in Minnesota.
People accused of or under investigation for assault might ask, “What are the charges for assault?” Minnesota has five levels of assault charges. First-degree assault is the most serious offense, and a conviction often results in the most severe penalties, like long prison time and hefty fines.
Minnesota’s new marijuana law legalizes marijuana for recreational purposes for adults 21 years or older. The new law makes it unlawful for employers to take action against their employees for off-duty cannabis use. It also prohibits them from refusing to hire an applicant who tests positive for cannabis or requiring applicants to take pre-employment cannabis testing.
Is weed legal in Minnesota? Currently, weed is legal for medical and recreational use in the state. A new Minnesota law legalized weed for recreational use on August 1, 2023. Persons aged 21-years or older may possess or carry a maximum of two ounces of marijuana flower in public.